National Essay Competition on the Next System

If you don’t like the present system … what’s your alternative?

The Next System Project is pleased to announce our national essay competition on the next system. Judged by a panel (to be announced) of highly respected scholars associated with the project, we will award three $5,000 first prizes for the best original essays by an undergraduate, a graduate, and a non-student. Three runner-up prizes of $500 will also be awarded. We aim to publish a compilation of the best essays submitted.

Events at AAR

Join us for Center for Process Studies & Affiliated Sessions at the AAR:


Center for Process Studies
Theme: Reception
Saturday 9:00 PM-11:00 PM

­The Third Postmodern Psychology Forum


You are cordially invited to take part in the Third Sino-US Postmodern Psychology Forum themed “Postmodern Psychology, Moral Education, and Healthy Life from a Constructive Perspective” to be held in Claremont, CA, November 10, 2016.

Plenary speakers include: 

  • Dr. John B. Cobb, Jr.
  • Dr. Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi
  • Dr. Donna Orange
  • Dr. Chuck Rassieur

Listening to Great Masters’ Teachings and Exchanging Ideas with Each Other: Impressions of the Eleventh Sino-US Process Summer Academy

by Xiaying Lv
School of Marxism, Zhejiang University, HangZhou, China

On July 11-18, 2016, the Eleventh Sino-US Process Summer Academy was successfully held in South China Normal University of Guangzhou city, Guangdong province, China. The theme of this summer academy was “systems thinking, the philosophy of organism and its significance on green development and innovation.” The goals of this summer academy were to learn about core philosophical ideas in Alfred North Whitehead’s Process and Reality and to learn about ways in which those ideas have been developed by “process” or “constructive postmodern” thinkers in relation to ecology, education, economics, family life, science, Asian traditions, and prospects for a 21st century Enlightenment integrating Asian and Western perspectives. The teachers of the summer academy are all top professors in the field of process philosophy, like Philip Clayton, Zhihe Wang, Paul Bube, Robert Mesle, Barbara Mesle, Fubin Yang, and Li Yang, etc. More than 40 students participated in this summer academy.